Love!

Hang my locket around your neck,
Wear my ring on your finger.
Love is invincible facing danger and death.
Passion laughs at the terrors of hell.
The fire of love stops at nothing-
It sweeps everything before it.
Floodwaters can’t drown love,
Torrents of rain can’t put it out.
Love can’t be bought, love can’t be sold-
It’s not to be found in the marketplace.”

Song of Songs 8: 6-7

I am kind of awed by this passage. I came across it yesterday and was kind of stopped dead in my tracks. I have been studying love a lot lately, mostly because it is something I am not very good at. Jesus said it was the only way. That all else is nothing without it. The scriptures even go, as far as to say that god is love. My whole life I grew up thinking love was a feeling. Something that happens within me, but what I am learning is that it has nothing to do with any of that. It is something we are, a way of life. Jesus said we must die to ourselves, take up our own cross, and follow. In essence I believe he was saying that we must become love. Love is selfless. It is for the good of others. Take a look at “1 Corinthians 13”

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing. If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’m bankrupt without love.

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.

Love never dies. Inspired speech will be over some day; praying in tongues will end; understanding will reach its limit. We know only a portion of the truth, and what we say about God is always incomplete. But when the complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled. When I was an infant at my mother’s breast, I gurgled and cooed like any infant. When I grew up, I left those infant ways for good. We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then; see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us! But for right now, until that completeness, we have three thing to do to lead us toward that consummation: Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love.

1 Corinthians 13

Can I pray?

Jesus we are taken by your ways of life. I pray for you to take us deep into the essence of love. Let it become our way. Let it flood our minds and our hearts. Let it impassionate us. Let it become more than words on our tong. Let it consume us like a blazing fire and engulf everything around us. Transform us into what brings you glory. Transform us into your very essence and that is LOVE! Thanks and amen

10 responses to “Love!

  • Linda

    Here is an excellent sermon on the Song of Solomon by Paul Washer that helped me see how Christ loves His bride the church:

    http://www.sermonaudio.com/sermoninfo.asp?SID=8100722578

    In Christ,
    Linda

    P.S. – I suggest sticking with the Bible and not “The Message”.

  • lisakjones

    I have always cherished 1 Corinthians 13. what version is your text from? I love it! … “[love] doesn’t force itself on others” … that convicted me because I’m desiring a relationship with a particular person so badly. it seems hopeless but I keep pursuing it. almost forcing it, so that verse kind of slapped me over the head : )
    after years of listening to your music, I’m discovering new meanings and much-needed encouragement in your lyrics (especially from “Simply Nothing”). the theme of needing Christ and only His love, and holding on is becoming more and more true … I am nothing without Him, I absolutely need Him and can’t do this without Him.

  • penny

    I think we all have to learn that love is more than a feeling. Great thoughts!

    lisakjones – it is from The Message (which I happen to love)!

  • breasnyder

    Wow that’s powerful…Thanks for sharing.
    <
    Brea

  • Sarah

    Thanks for sharing that verse from Song of Songs… I often forget that love isn’t just some emotion, but it’s powerful. Nothing can break the love of our Lord.

  • Liv

    i have been very blessed by your music the past couple of years, and now i’ve been excited to read more about your life. thank you so much for sharing.
    Your little boy is so adorable. thanks for sharing your pictures as well.

    Liv

  • Chris White Rosborough

    Shawn, I heard you sing Who Am I? on the radio when you were guests of 103.9 – I love that song but can’t seem to find it or the lyrics anywhere. Where can I get a copy of that song? And could you please post the lyrics somewhere? It captivated my heart and mind. Thank you!

  • Yohan

    Shawn:
    Your song, Captivated, has caused me to be lost in God at times. I am thankful for that and also for your comments here now. Your blog personalizes you as a man after God’s heart. I pray that we will seek Him daily the way you exemplify, finding Him when He chooses to reveal Himself.

    You are a blessing and I pray you are blessed in return,
    Yohan

  • Stephanie

    Awesome post…thank you for sharing…love love love…man, your wife posted about one of my other favorites Christian artists songs…How He Loves Us…John Mark McMillan and then 3 more blogs I am reading posted about this same subject…I believe that God is trying to get his body refocused on the one thing that it’s all about…God’s love for us.

    It seems as though we’re a bunch of Peter’s walking around saying how much we love God…and doating on how much we love him when in fact we should be like John…knowing and being confident that we are loved by God…John the beloved disciple. He wrote of himself “The disciple whom Jesus loved…”. He doated on Jesus’s love for him…

    May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you will never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Ephesians 3:19

    Thank you for sharing!

  • grace s. cartwright

    Shawn, I doubt you remember me, i did an interview back in May for ccm with ya. I stumbled across your blog and was so moved by this! I have been challnged lately through some studying of what it means to fulfill biblical Love..found this GREAT youtube:

    Mark driscoll nails it! and for the record, LOVE the message trans on that passage.

Leave a Reply

