The Water Within

I have been I guess you could say a tear factory as of lately. Seems like it doesn’t take much to send me into a heavy cry. Sometimes it is just ridiculous what starts it. I was watching “House” the other night and I swear I cried for a better half of the show, now granted it was a quite sad episode but never the less the tears just kept a coming. It was about a little girl who had cancer and her courage to fight and find the best of the day, it was well moving me. I don’t know what it is about people concurring obstacles and over coming hardships that are so empowering. Deep down in us whether we want to admit it, we long to see others succeed. And when we do well for me, the tears just start pouring.

I have always been a crier, every since I was a little boy. My soul and spirit are very sensitive to things, and I can’t watch TV without bursting into a water hose. I use to think it was a bad thing and hate the fact that I couldn’t control it. I was teased a bigger part of my life because of how sensitive I was. But I have come to a place of embracing the fact that it is just who I am. Most of the time it is a weird joy-giving cry. A cry that somehow I believe is healing the wounds within.

Crying is such a weird thing, you know? Your body or mind feels something so much that it convulses and spits water from you r eyes. That you lose all composer and crumble, it is quite a mystery. The bible even says that Christ cried. I wonder what that would have sounded like. What would the God of all, sound like weeping his pain. Such a mystery, yet so profound. I really don’t have an ending to this post; I guess I just wanted to ramble some thoughts. Anyways hope life is in a place of deep feeling for you.

Shawn

8 responses to “The Water Within

  • Kiwi

    I agree completely. I, too, cry at the drop of a hat. It took me a long time to get to a place where I wasn’t ashamed of being the human sprinkler.

    Crying releases a chemical in your brain that has a calming effect. It is your body’s way of bringing itself back down to “normal”.

    As far as what Jesus would sound like, I imagine he had a quiet and proud cry. I can’t imainge he would try to draw attention to his suffering.

  • Jenny

    Shawn,
    I agree, crying is good for us sometimes. It can be so relieving and healing, and it’s hard to stop once you start sometimes. Exactly! God has made each one of us a certain way and there is nothing wrong with being sensitive. I’m glad that you have come to a place where you have embraced your sensitivity. It’s seems like a struggle for a lot of guys.

    And Christ crying…it IS such a profound thought. He’s God, so strong and powerful, yet His tears show his humanity and compassion. Hmm, so interesting to think about.

    Praying for you and your family…may He continue to heal you and give you strength daily. Be blessed!
    Much love in Christ,
    Jenny

  • OBrian Tallent

    Hey, man, dont feel bad for crying…I have to stay away from Extreme Home Makeovers. I usually boohoo over that one! But you are right, there is something inside us (our spirit) that rejoices when others succeed, over come, are blessed. I tend to think it’s part of the nurturing aspect of the Holy Spirit that moves within us. Be blessed and be well man. Keep that chin up.

  • Linda

    The Bible says Jesus is a “man of sorrows”, it also says that He will wipe all His people’s tears in heaven. Think about heaven often.

    P.S. – Can you change your background color on your blog?, it is hard to read with a dark background.

  • Erika

    Let’s be honest, crying feels pretty bad on the outside. Most of us are not pretty criers, so our faces go red and noses get blocked and heads get sore. But it brings release for the spirit, I think; somehow something that is broken is mended, or something that was broken and set badly is re-broken and prepared for the mending.

    There is a freedom in being raw, in being vulnerable, in the sweetness of pulling yourself up afterwards and knowing: now I stand on my feet, and not by my own power or by my own ability, but by the infinite grace of One who was here in this room with me, in this moment with me more than anyone else will ever be capable of.

  • Stefanie

    Shawn,

    When I read your post, the Lord brought the book of Lamentations to my mind, Chapter 3 in particular. Read it when you have a chance.

    Still praying for you and your family.

  • Debbe

    Shawn,
    I have often thought about the feelings we have prior to crying. It is as if we are filled emotionally to point of leakage. 🙂 I watched The Secret Life of Bees and had to turn it off, so I could finish. I wept and wept and wept. There is so much going on in our world. I do not know why I do not weep every day. The gift of joy by the Spirit is my only answer.
    May His peace fill you each day.

    Debbe

  • Jackie

    I love to cry, especially when its to the Lord.. I can’t imagine If I saw Jesus crying, if my parents cry it dosn’t matter what they are crying about I start balling, if it was Jesus crying I don’t know what I would do!!!

Leave a Reply

