Unfailing

“That according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith- that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

And now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us. To him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus through out all generations, forever and ever, amen.” Ephesians 3:16-21

I was reading in my journal this morning and came across this scripture out of Ephesians. Sometimes it’s hard for me to rest in the fact that God loves us perfectly. I know my sin and selfishness all to well, and if it were me, I would not find a place of love for myself. It is incredible to me that God finds us lovely. That some how he can see through our mess and see something that is beautiful and without blemish, and what I think is even more amazing is the fact that his love for us is the very thing that brings him glory. There is nothing that we have done, or that we are doing or even that we are going to do that can separate us from the love and glory of God.

Jesus please forgive us of our messy lives, and our inability to love fully. Please give us the grace to rest in the fact that it is by you and your glory only that we might find life. I give you my life today and pray that I have the strength and courage to lay down my life tomorrow and everyday after. I pray for strength to trust in your unfailing love. I ask for your shelter from the lies of this world and the clarity to see the truth that only you give. I ask for joy to rise in our hearts that our lives might become pictures of an unfailing love, and an unfailing God. Let us boast only in the cross that has conquered all death and let your love transform our minds to see the world through your eyes. Amen!

3 responses to “Unfailing

  • Jenny

    Wow, this is what the message at church today was about! Definitely not coincidence that I’m reading this right now…i think I needed to hear it again to really see that is is true. Trying to get past these overwhelming doubts that I’ve been having about religion in general. I know deep down that God is real…but it’s been a struggle lately. Thank you for being open to God’s voice and sharing this. It really helped me. God bless you and your family Shawn!
    Jenny

  • Jess

    Thanks for this post Shawn. It’s exactly what I needed to hear at the moment I read it.

  • Angela

    It wasn’t till after I had children that it hit me that God loves me even more than I love my kids and my kids sometimes make it really hard to like them when they are disobedient. But no matter how much they mess up and not listen to me I still love them. It makes you realize just how much God loves us that he was willing to put His only Son through such agony for us. Even before we were born. And that no matter how we screw up we will always be His children and love us unconditionally. There’s a comfort in knowing that.

Leave a Reply

