Sucker punched!

A couple days ago I received some news that hit me so hard I truly felt I could not breath. The pain was way over my head. My mind started racing and thinking to my self that I didn’t know how to handle the blow of what i had just been given. As I wrestle for 2 days with anger and hurt, trying not to be bitter and choosing to walk in what we are called to walk in, that being forgiveness. it is one thing to claim we can forgive but is really different to lay down your pain and choose love. You could say that Good Friday this year was the realest it has ever been. That i truly felt a death of sorts. But as I sit here today focusing on the Risen Savior I am reminded that the reason Jesus died was for the breaking of sin and pain and death. I stand here today believing on the name of our lord Jesus, knowing that he is the only one who can save us from our messy lives.
I spent this Easter very alone. I longed today for family more than I have ever longed, but knowing that some how everything is going to be OK. Gods love does not change no matter the storms that life throw our way. Today I prayed and prayed that God would rise in me and in all of you. That his realness and truth would burst forth and life would be new.
I covet your prayers so much! I don’t know how to face the storm that lay in front of me.
if you can find the time to lift my life up, I ask that you pray Gods Strength in me that I might walk upright and to choose righteousness in the storms that I know I am going to soon battle my way through.
thanks much

20 responses to “Sucker punched!

  • Chelle

    Praying for you…for all 3 of you. May our RISEN Savior bring your comfort beyond your understanding.

  • Linda

    Here are some sermons and articles by John Piper on forgiveness, maybe they will help you.

    http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/TopicIndex/67_Forgiving_Others/

    In Christ,
    Linda

  • Linda

    True forgiveness comes easier when you know what Christ did for you – Christ died for you, but He is risen…

    I pray that God will grow you through this trial.

    In Christ,
    Linda

  • sherri

    praying for you

  • Jenny

    Shawn, praying for you. Reading your post just made me think about some of the storms that I’m going to be facing soon. On some level, I understand how you feel. I also know it can be very hard to forgive others. I pray that the Lord would help you to forgive and to not grow bitter, but be able to love ppl no matter what they throw at you.
    That’s tough not to be with your family today…definitely praying for strength and comfort for you. Exactly! Christ loves you and each one of us dearly and that will never change 🙂
    Thanks so much for praying for all of us. I’m trying to hold on tight to God and to overcome these waves of doubt that have been hitting so hard. Thanks for sharing your music with us, it has been such an encouragement to me 🙂
    Much love in Christ! Happy Easter!
    Jenny

  • OBrian Tallent

    Shawn, you are in my prayers. I pray the Lord of all will bless you and keep you in his hands. That he will bring healing, mercy, forgiveness and peace. Stay strong brother, keep your eyes on him…he will answer.

  • amberhansen

    Prayed for you this morning. Will contine to do so. Hold onto the peace and comfort that only our Savior can give. These are some verses that have helped me in tough times-

    Psalm 23
    “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
    you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.”

    1 Corinthians 1:3-5
    “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too.”

    Romans 5:1-5
    “Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

    2 Corinthians 12:9-10
    “But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

  • Mark

    I totally relate to being lonely. man I was so lonely yesterday in the midst of church, and being around friends. I long for a wife and family. But how do I find her? I’m pleading with God to bring her to me. Will He bring her to me, or as a man do I go out and find her?

    I get so frustrated being up one day down the next. I want to walk upright and choose righteousness too. Thanks for being real and honest Shawn.

    all over the place-
    Mark

    • victoria

      maybe she’s already there. maybe its up to her to seek you out. maybe you already lost her and you need to find her again….. i love the movie “definitely, maybe” its the freshest romantic comedy in years Says Dean Richards WGN TV Chicago. and the new one ” I could never be your woman!” Good luck don’t take what you can get but give what you can! Treat her like a queen and she will treat you like a king.

  • Amy @ Living a Blessed Life

    Shawn – I’ve been praying and will continue to pray.

  • Erika

    may you know Jesus as the calmer of your storm, today and tomorrow and the rest of your week. and may you sense His grace in all things.

  • Tina

    praying for you (and the fam)

  • james

    I can understand lonliness, but I can’t accept lonliness. It isn’t Gods will for us. So my prayr for Mark and Shawn and myself is that God’s will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Lonliness will just have to leave all of us and go out into dry places with its tears. Jesus is everything. What He did on the cross is everything to me. For Jesus that was a burden that God did not take away but Jesus still inquierd as to what God’s plan was and asked if God would “let this cup pass from me” Matthew 26:39. I have reason to believe that God permits trials to happen, I just need to keep my eyes on Him, that is where I can find the path into the light. Other trials I have to sin to get into and to get out of those I have to seek God’s discernment and his conviction and then repent in order to get only back to where I was. “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1John 1:9
    Sorry that was long

    Peace and Love in Christ

    James

  • Stefanie

    Shawn, I can definitely understand loneliness. My husband left for another deployment to Iraq. These times are hard, but it is also gives me the opportunity to see Jesus at work in my life. I will continue to pray for you and your family.

  • Elisa Ann Coney

    Shawn!!! I just wrote you an email through MySpace, and I hadn’t seen your blog!!! “All things work together for good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose!” We are all one body, and when one is hurt we all hurt. “Time heals all wounds,” so with time anything that occured will be resolved and washed away by the blood of Christ. It’s all a process of learning to trust God through difficult situations. What did you learn from the ordeal? If you are able to share what the lesson had to teach please do so. Take care over there mon frere, and remember things become clearer through prayer.

  • Tiller

    Shawn,
    Praying for You!!!

  • Debbe

    I am praying for you.

    1 Corinthians 1:3-5
    “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too.”

  • victoria

    sorry to hear of your lonliness on my easter birthday, Everybody hurts sometime R.E.M…. Music Heals, TIME heals,,,, sometimes hurts come back or seem impossible…. remember we are not in control of any one or anything we cannot fret on things WE have no controll over we have control over our Prayers, our Meditations, what we ALLOW to fill our heads and hearts and lives….. yes the pain will sneak back in the thoughts the heartache, the actions the people but WE just have to Forgive……. A Lot of SELF TALK,,,,,,,, i forgive iforgive iforgive… And Try not to worry take there word that it won’t happen again and if it doessss keeep forgiving ,,,, perservere until you cant take it any more….. GOD GIVE US STRENGTH. JUST ASK JOBE. i think it was jobe the guy who lost 7 boys and three girls and his LIFE………. but perserveared…. Gained…. and LIved to tell HIS STORY……. Good LUck……. ~ victoria 30 year old broken hearted mother of 4

Leave a Reply

