Grandfathers and Fishing trip!

A couple summers back I decided I needed to spend time with my grandfather since he was getting older and I didn’t know how much more time I would have to do things with him. My grandfather is more like a father than a grandfather cause he was the only man figure I really had in my life growing up. My father was and is still a drifter that really has no reason for living outside of his own wants and needs, a man that I will never be, by the healing and mercies of a loving God. My gramps taught me many things in my life, the art of chess, the Mickey Mouse way of fixing everything and the love of fishing. From the time I could walk I have memories of fishing with my grand dad. Hours and hours of patiently sitting and waiting for the lurkers of the water to bite my ever bobbing hook that I had placed there to lure them in. An art that I mastered at a very young age.

I decided that the best way to spend time with my grandfather was to do the thing that we had spent so much of our lives doing, Fishing the secret rivers of Oregon that have become some what of a passion of mine. Oregon is a very different place in contrast to the rest of the US. A land of hippies, rugged mountains and beautiful cold water streams full of massive Brown and rainbow trout. A sanctuary of life and beautiful memories that will live deep with in my mind till the passing from this life and in to the next. Oregon will always be my Home!

My grandfather and I packed our things loaded the Four Wheelers on to the trailer and headed east for one of the best fishing trips I will ever experience in my life time. We drove into the high desert of Oregon and parked our truck, unloaded the four wheelers and then proceeded a crossed the plains of sagebrush and Juniper trees until we had came upon these beautiful canyons full of lush life and cold rushing rivers. They were extremely hard places to access yet the best fishing is to go where others don’t. To be an explorer of places less traveled! It is kind of like God. Nothing good in life is easy, yet instead the best things are rugged and hard and sometimes seem impossible. The places you have to struggle to get to, I have found are the places you find the most treasure. So many give up when it gets hard cause maybe they just don’t believe that they have what it takes. Maybe they never had a father to tell them. Even if this is true, then hear it from my lips; I believe you have what it takes.

I have seen and done so many things in life. Things that I never dreamed that I would do, nor would I ever see. Life has been a journey of pains and joys, ups and downs, forwards and backwards and a lot of trudging through the mud. I just dive in and try what I do not know! This is by far a hard way to live but I have discovered things I never knew possible. I have failed a lot in my life but if given the chance to do over I would opt not. Experience far out ways redoes. My grand father taught me to always do my best, to always pick the hardest way, and to give it my all. That education is good, but heart is so much better. Little did I know that those fishing trips were counseling me on how to be a man of great heart, that you never know what lies beneath the water and that good things take a lot of work, but are well worth the struggle.

8 responses to “Grandfathers and Fishing trip!

  • Joel Flory

    Love it. Did you take any pics?

  • Luiz

    Very good!While I was reading I could imagine a river, and everything you said. Good to read something that you wrote!A hug!

  • womanchild88

    It’s good to read more blogs from you!! Thanks for the insight!
    -Kattie
    James 1:2

  • Martha aka SwitchingGranny

    Shawn- I’ve been a fan of your music for years. Now I’m a fan of your writing. This was so precious & touching. Being a Grand Mother I find it especially encouraging how much influence God allows us to have on our Grand children. God Bless you

  • Jonny Williams

    Interesting how God brings up ordinary people to do out-of the ordinary things. Thanks for sharing Shawn.

  • Mark E.

    Right on!

    Hey thank you for writing, you bless me a ton. I’m glad you started writing again. Bless you on your journey.

  • Kelly

    I really like that, education is good, but the heart much more… Beautiful…and how true it is that good things take a lot of work, but are well worth it. A man with any sense can tell by your words, and your lyrics that you are a man of heart, and it is encouraging to see that a grandfather passing it town does make a difference. That there may be bumps, and a Savior might not be evident in someones life for a time, but words of life do not go out in vain. Bless you bro, for choosing the road less traveled and making a path in order that others may find life too.

  • Simply Dee

    Shawn this is beautiful! 🙂 Glad to see you writing again! This really spoke to my heart. *God* bless!

Leave a Reply

